Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
The University of Southampton
Archaeologies of Media and Technology Research group


Jussi Parikka and Ryan Bishop at The Consortium: On Autonomous Sensing
Jussi Parikka and Ryan Bishop at The Consortium: On Autonomous Sensing

The members of the AMT Research Group are drawn from across the various disciplines of Winchester School of Art, including academics working in Media, Computer Games, Art and more.

The group is pleased to include PhD students as Postgraduate Researchers and Externally Affiliated Scholars and Artists who we work with closely in projects and are able to bring a new and unique perspective to our research.

The current membership of the group includes:


Professors Jussi Parikka and Ryan Bishop

WSA Affiliated Staff

Danny Aldred
Professor John Armitage
Dr Daniel Ashton
Dr. Jane Birkin
Dr Mihaela Brebenel
Dr Megen de Bruin-Molé
Dr Valentina Cardo
Ian Dawson
Dr Seth Giddings
Dr Alessandro Ludovico
Dr Sunil Manghani
Mia Taylor

PhD students

Lia Carreira
Eda Sancakdar Onikinci
Samantha Schäfer
Agnes Villette
Beny Wagner

Affiliated Scholars and Artists

Prof. John Beck , Westminster, London
Prof. Benjamin Bratton , UCSD
Prof. Jordan Crandall , UCSD
Professor Sean Cubitt , Goldsmiths, London
Dr Lori Emerson , Boulder, Colorado
Dr. Kristoffer Gansing , artistic director of transmediale
Dr. Ed Keller , New School
Dr Joasia Krysa , Liverpool Biennial and LJMU
Dr Shannon Mattern , New School
Dr. Darren Wershler , Concordia, Montreal
Prof. Geoff Winthrop-Young , UBC Vancouver

Research Image


Some of the research currently being undertaken by the AMT.

Partnerships image


Find out more about the AMT's Engagement with other groups and organisations.

Privacy Settings