Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Biological Sciences

Recognising Excellence and commitment. Dean’s Prize Award 2017

Published: 15 December 2017Origin: Chemistry
Dean's prize winners 2017
Dean's Prize Winners 2017

Outstanding early career academics from the Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences have been recognised for their achievements at the Dean’s Prize Award Ceremony 2017. We received a very good response to the call for 2017 and the nominations in each of the categories have been to a very high standard. The winners were announced at the event on Thursday 7th December held in the Observatory on Highfield Campus.

This Faculty initiative is now running for the fifth year and is committed to supporting the Concordat principles to develop early career researchers and teaching fellows. The Dean’s Prize recognises an outstanding level of achievement, commitment and exceptional contributions in research, education, enterprise, public engagement and citizenship.

Welcome and introductions were delivered by Professor Lindy Holden-Dye FNES Concordat Champion and we were very pleased to welcome guest speaker Professor Hugh Perry, Professor of Experimental Neuropathology, Chair of the MRC (UK) Neuroscience and Mental Health Board. Professor Rachel Mills, Dean of the Faculty presented the winners with their awards.

Rachel commented ‘I’m very proud to award the 2017 Dean’s Prizes to our winners. We have extraordinary early career staff who make huge contributions right across the Faculty, whether this is outstanding research contributions, innovative teaching of complex new ideas, engagement with policy makers, pulling together the wider community of staff or generating new activity with industry. The Dean’s Prize marks these achievements and contributions and in a small way says thank you for your hard work and commitment.

Congratulations to the 2017 Dean's Prize Winners

  • Elizaveta Suturina
  • Maria Concistre
  • Christopher Cave-Ayland
  • Ray Allan
  • Fernando Calahorro-Nunez
  • Gemma Cripps
  • Saikiran Tharimena
  • Thomas Chalk
  • Hachem Kassem
  • Rachel Hale

Comments from Dean's prize winners:

Ray Allen:
It has been a great privilege to work alongside so many talented and inspiring individuals whose enthusiasm and drive have advanced the translation of basic biofilm research into the clinical arena here at Southampton. I’m honoured to receive the Dean’s prize as part of this multidisciplinary team, which is recognition for our impact in developing treatments for chronic infections and tackling the rising threat of antimicrobial resistance.

Elizabeth Suturina:
I would like to thank the Dean’s Prize organizers and the Concordat team for the support of Early Carrier researchers like myself. I was delighted to receive this recognition and happy for my colleagues who have got this award. I would like to thank my colleagues for inspiring me with the interesting research projects and School of Chemistry for the constant support.

Privacy Settings