Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
University of Southampton MalaysiaCurrent students

Academic calendar

Semester 1 = 30 September 2019 – 24 January 2020
Semester 2 = 27 January 2020 – 05 June 2020

Teaching weekDatesActivities
1 30 Sep – 04 Oct 2019 Teaching Week + Induction Week (Only for part 1)
2 07 – 11 Oct 2019 Teaching Week
3 14 – 18 Oct 2019 Teaching Week
4 21 – 25 Oct 2019 Teaching Week
5 28 Oct – 01 Nov 2019 Teaching Week
# Deepavali 27 Oct (Sun)*
Replacement 28 Oct (Mon)
6 04 – 08 Nov 2019 Teaching Week
7 11 – 15 Nov 2019 Teaching Week
8 18 – 22 Nov 2019 Teaching Week
9 25 – 29 Nov 2019 Teaching Week
10 02 – 06 Dec 2019 Teaching Week
11 09 – 13 Dec 2019 Teaching Week
12 16 – 20 Dec 2019 Teaching Week
13 23 – 27 Dec 2019 Christmas Break # Christmas 25 Dec (Wed)
14 30 Dec 2019 – 03 Jan 2020 Christmas Break
# New Year 1 Jan (Wed)
15 06 – 10 Jan 2020 Teaching Week
16 13 – 17 Jan 2020 Semester 1 exams
17 20 – 24 Jan 2020 Semester 1 exams
18 27 – 31 Jan 2020 Study Break
# Chinese New Year 25 ‐26 Jan (Sat & Sun)
Replacement 27 Jan (Mon)
19 03 – 07 Feb 2020 Teaching Week (Semester 2 starts)
20 10 – 14 Feb 2020 Teaching Week
21 17 – 21 Feb 2020 Teaching Week
22 24 – 28 Feb 2020 Teaching Week
23 02 – 06 Mar 2020 Teaching Week
24 09 – 13 Mar 2020 Teaching Week
25 16 – 20 Mar 2020 Teaching Week
26 23 – 27 Mar 2020 Teaching Week
# Sultan Johor Birthday 23 Mar (Mon)
27 30 Mar – 03 Apr 2020 Mid Semester Break
28 06 – 10 Apr 2020 Teaching Week
29 13 – 17 Apr 2020 Teaching Week
30 20 – 24 Apr 2020 Teaching Week
*Semester 0 April Induction 2020/2021*
# Awal Ramadhan 24 Apr (Fri)
31 27 Apr – 01 May 2020 Teaching Week
# Labour Day 1 May (Fri)
32 04 – 08 May 2020 Teaching Week
# Wesak Day 7 May (Thurs)
33 11 – 15 May 2020 Study Week
34 18 – 22 May 2020 Semester 2 exams
35 25 – 29 May 2020 Semester 2 exams
# Hari Raya Puasa 24 – 25 May (Sat & Sun)*
Replacement 26 May (Mon)
36 01 – 05 June 2020 Semester 2 exams
  17 – 28 Aug 2020 Exam re-sit

END

*subject to confirmation/change

JOHOR STATE PUBLIC HOLIDAY 2019/2020

MonthDateHoliday
October 2019 05 Oct (Sat) Almarhum Johor Hol Day - No replacement leave
  27 Oct (Sun)* Deepavali - Replacement leave on Monday, 28 Oct
November 2019 09 Nov (Sat) Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday - No replacement leave
December 2019 25 Dec (Wed) Christmas
January 2020 01 Jan (Wed) New Year
  25 Jan (Sat) Chinese New Year – Day 1
  26 Jan (Sun) Chinese New Year – Day 2 - Replacement leave on Monday, 27 Jan
February 2020 08 Feb (Sat) Thaipusam - No replacement leave
March 2020 23 Mar (Mon) Sultan Johor Birthday
April 2020 24 Apr (Fri) * Awal Ramadhan
May 2020 01 May (Fri) Labour Day
  07 May (Thurs) Wesak Day
  24 May (Sat)* Hari Raya Puasa – Day 1
  25 May (Sun)* Hari Raya Puasa – Day 2 Replacement leave on Monday, 26 May

*subject to confirmation/change

Useful Downloads

Need the software?PDF Reader
Privacy Settings