The University of Southampton
Engineering and the EnvironmentOur research

Research Group: Engineering Materials

Currently Active: 

Head of Group:  Professor Fabrice Pierron   The principal goal of our research activities is to develop fundamental understanding of the physical processes and interactive mechanisms in materials that affect the performance of engineering systems. This understanding and knowledge is then transferred into engineering technologies through enhanced materials performance and improved designs.

Group Overview

Our researchers conduct research across a wide range of engineering materials and their applications in:

  • aerospace and automotive sectors
  • energy systems
  • electronic and biomedical devices
  • microsystems

Please see our research strengths for more detail

Our research activities are further stimulated by multidisciplinary collaborations with other research groups in Engineering and the Environment, and with many other research groups across the University. This provides an excellent forum for training high-calibre research students. It also strengthens our educational mission and provides undergraduates with an ideal environment for project work.

The Group comprises 15 academics, seven research fellows and 33 research students. Our staff occupy influential positions on international and national research committees, hold fellowships with the Institute of Materials, Mining and Mineralogy, have been elected to the Peer Review College of EPSRC and occupy editorial positions on leading international research journals, including Principal Editor of Materials Letters and Editor of Materials Science and Engineering.

Contact us

Engineering Sciences Unit

Engineering and the Environment
University of Southampton
Highfield Campus
Southampton SO17 1BJ


Senior Administrative Officer: Sue Berger
Tel: +44 (0)23 8059 2871
Administrative Officer: Katherine Day
Tel: +44 (0)23 8059 2841
Administrative Officer: Fiona Haigh
Tel: +44 (0)23 8059 7082
Administrative Officer: Gwyneth Skiller
Tel: +44 (0)23 8059 5568



Major facilities used within the Engineering Materials research group include:

The group is well-equipped with characterisation tools, including a state-of-the-art transmission electron microscope, field emission gun scanning electron microscope, a He ion microscope, access to an AFM, extensive electrochemical facilities and a major new X-ray computed tomography (CT) scanner centre at μ-VIS.

Postgraduate opportunities

You can find all of our projects with guaranteed funding here.

Research Staff

Staff MemberPrimary Position
Mithila Achintha Lecturer in Structural Engineering
Trevor AllenPostgraduate Research Student in Engineering Materials
Janice M BartonProfessor of Experimental Mechanics
Dmitry BavykinAssociate Professor Energy Technology
Atul BhaskarProfessor of Applied Mechanics
Richard P BoardmanResearch Fellow
Martin BrowneHead of Bioengineering Science research group
Daniel BullResearch student
Jack S CallaghanPostgraduate research student
Somsubhro ChaudhuriPostgraduate research student
Gianluca CidonioPostgraduate research student
Junqing FanPostgraduate research student
Hans FangohrProfessor of Computational Modelling
Khong Wui GanAssistant Professor
Nong GaoLecturer
Andrew R. HamiltonAssociate Professor
Yi HuangSenior Research Fellow
Liudi JiangProfessor of Materials and Electromechanical Systems
Irene Jiménez FortunatoPostgraduate Research Student
Mohammad Mehdi KashaniLecturer in Structural Mechanics, Design and Earthquake Engineering
Samuel KeyesNew Frontiers Fellow
Denis KramerAssociate Professor
Andreu LabordaPhD researcher of Engineering Materials group
Terence G LangdonProfessor of Materials Science
Tobias LauxPostgraduate research student
Tom MarkvartProfessor of Energy Conversion
Mark Noel MavrogordatoResearch Fellow
Brian G MellorAssociate Professor
Zhaozong MengResearch Fellow
Geir OlafssonPostgraduate Research Student
Fabrice PierronProfessor of Solid Mechanics
Tomas PolcarProfessor of Materials Science and Tribology
Carlos Ponce de León AlbarránSenior Lecturer, Energy Technology Group
Vishagen RamasamyEngineering doctorate Researcher with the AFM research group
Philippa A.S ReedProfessor of Structural Materials
Andrew RobinsonExperimental Officer and Specialist in Materials and Structures
R Ajit ShenoiDirector, Southampton Marine and Maritime Institute
Ian SinclairProfessor of Materials Engineering
S Mark SpearingVice President (Research and Enterprise)
Marco J StarinkProfessor of Materials Engineering
Nicola SymondsOperations Director
Jinghua TangPostgraduate research student
Ole Thybo ThomsenProfessor of Structures and Materials
Frank C WalshProfessor of Electrochemical Engineering, Research Institute for Industry
Shuncai WangLecturer
Arthur F WilloughbyEmeritus Professor
Charles E WoodKTP Associate
Christopher John WoodsKTP Associate
Shoufeng YangProfessor of Additive Manufacturing
Chao YouPostgraduate research student
Shahir YusufPostgraduate research student
Xunli ZhangReader, Bioengineering Group

    Related Projects

    Share this research group Facebook Google+ Twitter Weibo

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.