Skip to main content
Centre for Political Ethnography (CPE)

Our people

Learn about our core team and their research interests.

Dr Gillian Kennedy

Lecturer B

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: gillian.kennedy@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Harry Annison

Professor of Criminal Justice

Research interests

  • Penal politics
  • Probation and parole
  • Narratives, storylines and penal policy

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: h.annison@soton.ac.uk

Address: B4, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Ingi Iusmen

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • children's rights
  • child migration
  • public policy

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: i.iusmen@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Jenny Fleming

Chair in Criminiology

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: j.fleming@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor John Boswell

Professor

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: j.c.boswell@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Ka-Kin Cheuk

Lecturer in Anthropology

Accepting applications from PhD students

Dr Ming-chin Monique Chu

Lecturer in Chinese Politics

Research interests

  • Globalization-security interconnections with reference to semiconductors;
  • Economic statecraft in the realm of semiconductors;
  • Theory and practice of sovereignty;

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: m.m.chu@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Nick Clarke

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Political geography
  • Urban geography
  • Governance and citizenship

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: n.clarke@soton.ac.uk

Address: B44, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Roderick Rhodes DPhil, FAcSS, FASSA

Professor of Government (Research)

Research interests

  • Public Administration
  • Public Policy
  • Comparative Politics

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: r.a.w.rhodes@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Silke Roth

Professor of Sociology

Research interests

  • activism and volunteering
  • humanitarianism 
  • political participation

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: silke.roth@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Back
to top