Skip to main content
Work Futures Research Centre (WFRC)

Our people

Learn about our academic experts, from their research interests to their contact details.

Dr Charlie Walker MA, MSocSci, PhD

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Postsocialism
  • Masculinities
  • Care leavers

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: charlie.walker@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Daniel Ashton

Professor-Cultural & Creative Industries

Research interests

  • Work and the Creative Economy
  • Culture, Data and Place
  • Arts and Cultural Organisations

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: d.k.ashton@soton.ac.uk

Address: Satellite - Park Avenue, Winchester, SO23 8DL

Dr David Cross PhD, MSc, BA

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Self-employment
  • Commitment
  • HR Profession

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: d.e.cross@soton.ac.uk

Address: B2, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Donna Arrondelle

Research Fellow (DIGNIFIE Study)

Research interests

  • Her current research interests focus on contemporary imprisonment, working at the intersections of incarceration, dynamics of intimacy, and health justice.  
  • Research group memberships
  • Institute of Criminal Justice Research (ICJR) Members | Institute of Criminal Justice Research | University of Southampton 

Accepting applications from PhD students

Dr Jane Parry

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Changing workplaces and occupations
  • Workforce inequalities
  • Flexible, remote and hybrid working

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: j.parry@soton.ac.uk

Address: B2, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Jenny Fleming

Chair in Criminiology

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: j.fleming@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Maria Villares-Varela

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Migrant entrepreneurship
  • Work and employment relation in small firms
  • Family businesses

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: m.villares-varela@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Michalis Veliziotis

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Trade unions and human resource management (HRM)
  • Quality of work
  • Labour market institutions

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: m.veliziotis@soton.ac.uk

Address: B2, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Mina Beigi

Professor of Career Studies

Research interests

  • Work-nonwork interface
  • Understudied careers
  • Career success

Email: m.beigi@soton.ac.uk

Address: B2, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Pauline Leonard BA Sociology,PGCE, MA(Ed), PhD, FAcSS, FRSA

Associate Dean Research & Enterprise

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: pauline.leonard@soton.ac.uk

Address: B58, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Back
to top