Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Southampton Law School

Centre for Global Constitutionalism

What is global constitutionalism? It is an interdisciplinary field of study that draws on insights from politics, law, international relations, political theory, and philosophy to study the basic laws and norms of the international system. At GlobCon we talk about the global constitutional triad of human rights, democracy, and the rule of law as the basic principles of international politics.

The University of Southampton is now the host institution for Global Constitutionalism (GlobCon), an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal dedicated to global and transnational aspects of human rights, democracy, and the rule of law. The journal is published by the Cambridge University Press with the institutional support of Southampton Law School, the School of Economic, Social, and Political Sciences, and the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Southampton, UK.

Following its transition from the WZB Berlin Social Science Centre, the journal has been based at Southampton University since January 2020. In concert with hosting the journal, the editors have established a Centre for Global Constitutionalism at the University of Southampton, creating further prospects for internal and external collaboration.

The journal’s tenure at Southampton provides an opportunity for all scholars at the University to promote interdisciplinary collaboration on topics related to global constitutionalism.

The editors of the journal are Jonathan Havercroft (University of Southampton), Jacob Eisler (University of Southampton), Antje Wiener (University of Hamburg, Germany and University of Cambridge), Jo Shaw (University of Edinburgh) and Susan Kang (City University of New York, USA). Aygun Mammadzada (University of Southampton) is Managing Editor.

 

Get in touch:

For enquiries please contact: globcon-journal@soton.ac.uk.

To keep up to date on the journal’s activities, publications, and future events please follow us on Twitter (@GlobConJournal)

Centre Co-Chairs:

Jacob Eisler <J.Eisler@soton.ac.uk>

Jonathan Havercroft <J.Havercroft@soton.ac.uk>

 

Southampton Affiliates: 

Managing Editor of Global Constitutionalism:

Aygun Mammadzada <A.Mammadzada@soton.ac.uk>

Chris Armstrong <C.Armstrong@soton.ac.uk>

David Owen <dowen@soton.ac.uk>

Pia Riggirozzi <P.Riggirozzi@soton.ac.uk>

Ingi Iusmen <I.Iusmen@soton.ac.uk>

Ben Saunders <B.M.Saunders@soton.ac.uk>

Emily Reid <E.S.REID@soton.ac.uk>

Haris Psarras <C.Psarras@soton.ac.uk>

Asif Hameed <A.Hameed@soton.ac.uk>

Nina Jorgensen <N.H.B.Jorgensen@soton.ac.uk>

Uta Kohl <U.Kohl@soton.ac.uk>

Alun Gibbs <A.Gibbs@soton.ac.uk>

Stephanie Law <S.Law@soton.ac.uk>

Will Jennings <W.J.Jennings@soton.ac.uk>

Mabel Newton <M.A.Newton@soton.ac.uk>

 

External Affiliates:

Sam Zeitlin <sgz21@cam.ac.uk>

Samuli Seppanen <sseppanen@cuhk.edu.hk>

Manuscripts for consideration should be submitted online at: http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/gcn

Global Constitutionalism - Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law (GlobCon) seeks to promote a deeper understanding on the foundations, limitations and principles of political order and their dynamics over time on a global scale. The journal is interested in work that refers to constitutionalism as a template for empirical, conceptual or normative research on past, present and future political and legal practices, within and beyond the state.

Constitutionalism is understood here not as the study of a legal document, but as a reference frame for interdisciplinary research with a particular focus. Constitutionalism in a wide sense is associated with the study of the constitutive elements of legal and political practice that are central for the assessment of its legality or legitimacy. Constitutionalism does not presuppose the existence of a written constitution. It merely presupposes the interplay between social and institutional practices in which claims to legality and, therefore, legitimate authority, and democracy are central. Constitutionalism analyses the role of fundamental norms, the type of actors, and the institutions and procedures through which legal and political decisions are made.  In a narrower modern sense constitutionalism focuses on the basic ideas relating to justice (such as human rights), procedural fairness and participation (e.g. democracy) and the rule of law as they relate to institutional practices and policies in and beyond the state.

GlobCon invites submissions from scholars of International Law, Political Science, International Relations, Comparative Constitutional Law, Comparative Politics, Political Theory and Philosophy. GlobCon is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that seeks to develop interdisciplinary discourse about global constitutionalism. It welcomes submissions on a wide range of topics related to constitutionalism, human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

GlobCon aims to be a place where meaningful discussion of pressing global issues can take place, and where the voices in that debate are drawn from a truly international community.

We ask reviewers to consider whether adequate reference is made to the scholarly literature in the field. Recent studies have highlighted the possible under-representation of female and minority scholars in article citations. GlobCon is committed to ensuring that scholars receive appropriate intellectual acknowledgement through citations, regardless of race, gender, class, professional standing, or other categorical attributes. To that end, we ask referees to pay particular attention to the representativeness of citational practices manifested in all article submissions.

GlobCon will review articles up to 15,000 words (including notes and bibliography), although authors will be encouraged to reduce their papers to fewer than 12,000 words before publication. Brevity is encouraged and shorter papers will be advantaged in acceptance decisions. Authors should submit both a complete version of the manuscript and an anonymous version, stripped of all identifying references to the author(s) that can be sent to reviewers. The citation style of the submission should either be Chicago or Harvard Style as specified below. Please do not use endnotes.

Any enquiries can be sent via email to the journal’s Managing Editor, Aygun Mammadzada. Her email address is: globcon-journal@soton.ac.uk

Soon to be published.

Privacy Settings