Skip to main content
Research Group

Characterisation and Analytics

The Characterisation and Analytics research group specialises in research-led analytical problem-solving by using the latest instruments to examine and analyse chemical data.

Part of Chemistry

About

Our research focuses on using methods to identify, isolate or quantify chemicals and materials. We also investigate what characterises their physical properties.

Using the latest instruments and facilities, which are available to researchers across the University, we examine both organic and inorganic chemicals.

Our techniques include:

  • powder and materials X-ray diffraction
  • nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy
  • mass spectrometry and chromatography-mass spectrometry

People, projects and publications

People

Doctor Graham Tizzard

Operations Manager, Nat Crystallography

Connect with Graham

Email: graham.tizzard@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Professor John Langley

Professorial Fellow-Enterprise

Accepting applications from PhD students

Connect with John

Email: g.j.langley@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Ms Julie Herniman

Senior Experimental Officer

Connect with Julie

Email: j.m.herniman@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Doctor Laura Mccormick BSc(Hons) Melb

Research Fellow

Connect with Laura

Email: l.j.mccormick@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Doctor Mark Light

X Ray Diffraction Manager

Accepting applications from PhD students

Connect with Mark

Email: m.e.light@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Doctor Neil Wells

Sen Exp Officer in NMR Spectroscopy

Connect with Neil

Email: n.j.wells@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Doctor Nicola Knight

Coordinator-PSDI

Connect with Nicola

Email: n.knight@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

Professor Simon Coles

Professor of Structural Chemistry

Accepting applications from PhD students

Connect with Simon

Email: s.j.coles@soton.ac.uk

Address: B30, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ (View in Google Maps)

The ability to elucidate complex atomic-scale structures through their interactions with X-rays is truly incredible.
X Ray Diffraction Manager
Back to top