Skip to main content
Quantum, Light and Matter Group

Our people

Learn about our academic experts, from their research interests to their contact details.

Dr Alberto Politi

Associate Professor

Email: a.politi@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Antonios Kanaras MSc, PhD, FRSC, FRSB, FInstP, FHEA

Professor

Email: a.kanaras@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Bruce (Jun-Yu) Ou

Lecturer in Experimental Physics

Research interests

  • Nano-optomechanics
  • Metalens for imaging and metrology
  • AI for nanoimaging

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: bruce.ou@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Mr Christopher Timberlake

Research Fellow in Quantum Nanophysics

Professor David Smith MA, DPhil

Professor

Email: d.c.smith@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Dmitrii Dovzhenko

Research Fellow

Email: d.dovzhenko@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Elinor Twyeffort

Senior Teaching Fellow

Research interests

  • quantum information and technology;
  • theory of quantum electromechanics;
  • coupled cavity networks;

Email: e.k.twyeffort@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Miss Erika Cortese

Senior Research Assistant

Professor Hendrik Ulbricht

Professor of Physics

Research interests

  • Hendrik's main research interests concern experimental tests of fundamental theories of Nature by table-top experiments but also in space. Some tests are concerned with the large mass limit of the quantum superposition principle, which forms the basis of quantum mechanics. Other experiments are concerned with testing the interplay between quantum mechanics and gravitation in the low energy limit.
  • The Ulbricht group performs quantum experimental research on the preparation and analysis of massive systems in non-classical states by various techniques. They pioneer so-called levitated opto- and magneto-mechanics experiments, where light and magnetic fields are used to both trap and control nano- and micro-particles in vacuum. Please see the Ulbricht group webpages for more details.

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: h.ulbricht@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Idris Ajia

Research Fellow

Email: idris.ajia@soton.ac.uk

Address: B46, West Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Back
to top