Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Biological Sciences

Research Staff

List of all staff members in Biological Sciences
Mark RichardsonChief Executive Officer of the National Biofilms Innovation Centre
Paulina D RakowskaResearch and Innovation Development Manager
John ChadProfessor of Neuroscience
Max CrispinProfessor of Glycobiology
Nullin DivechaProfessor of Cellular Signalling
C. Patrick DoncasterProfessor of Ecology
Keith R FoxProfessor of Biochemistry
Lindy Holden-DyeHead of School
Bill KeevilProfessor of Environmental Healthcare
Karen A LillycropProfessor of Epigenetics
Amritpal MudherProfessor of Neurosciences
Vincent O'ConnorProfessor of Neurochemistry
Guy M PoppyChief Scientific Adviser to the Food Standards Agency (UK Govt)
Paul SkippProfessor of Proteomics, Director of the Centre for Proteomic Research
Peter J S SmithDirector, Institute for Life Sciences (IfLS)
Gail Taylor
Jessica L. TeelingProfessor of Experimental Neuroimmunology
Matthew J TerryDeputy Head of school (Research & Enterprise)
Jeremy S WebbProfessor of Microbiology
Claire E ClarkinAssociate Professor in Developmental and Skeletal Biology
Katrin DeinhardtAssociate Professor in Neuroscience
Rob M EwingAssociate Professor in Proteomics and Systems Biology
Diego Gomez-NicolaAssociate Professor
Rebecca J MorrisAssociate Professor in Ecology
Owen RackhamAssociate Professor of Systems Biology
Hannah V SiddleAssociate Professor in Molecular Immunology
Ivo TewsAssociate Professor in Structural Biology
Mariana Vargas-CaballeroAssociate Professor in Neuroscience
Herman WijnenAssociate Professor in Biological Sciences
Lorraine E WilliamsAssociate Professor in Plant Biology
Philip WilliamsonAssociate Professor
Neil SmythReader in Development and Cell Biology
Joern WernerReader in Structural Biology
Lex KraaijeveldPrincipal Teaching Fellow in Ecology and Evolution
Alan MarchantDeputy Head of School (Education)
William GreenSenior Innovation Consultant for the National Biofilm Innovation Centre
Michael BakerSenior Teaching Fellow
Declan A DoyleSenior Teaching Fellow in Molecular mechanisms and molecular medicine
Judith E LockPrincipal Teaching Fellow
Jenny BaverstockPrincipal Enterprise Fellow
John ButlerLab Manager / post doctorate researcher
Fernando CalahorroSenior Research Fellow in Molecular Neurobiology (Co-Investigator)
Rodolphe Hervé Senior Research Fellow
Robert A HollandSenior Research Fellow
Sandra A WilksAssociate Professor
Melissa R AndrewsLecturer in Systems Physiology
Charles BirtsLecturer in Antibody Therapeutics
Mark A ChapmanAssociate Professor in Ecology and Evolution
Marc G DumontLecturer in Environmental Microbiology
Salah EliasAssociate Professor
Neil J GostlingLecturer in Evolution and Palaeobiology
Franklin NobregaLecturer in Microbiology
Kelvin PehLecturer in Conservation Science
Nicole PriorLecturer of Stem Cell Biology, Principal Investigator (Liver development and organoid systems)
Marcin R Przewloka Lecturer in Molecular Cell Biology
David TumbarelloLecturer in Biomedical Sciences
Yihua WangAssociate Professor
Matthew BellamyTeaching Fellow
James C DillonTeaching Fellow in Biomedical Sciences
George DevittResearch Fellow in Neurodegeneration
Charles EldridResearch Fellow in mass spectrometry (glycoproteomics)
Yanling HuResearch Fellow in Neuroscience
Joe ParkerSenior Research Fellow
Andrew ShapanisResearch Fellow
Katerina SteventonSenior Innovation Consultant
Muhammad AkhtarEmeritus Professor
John A AllenEmeritus Professor
Chris AnthonyEmeritus Professor
Malcolm EastEmeritus Professor of Biochemistry
Tom P. FlemingEmeritus Professor of Developmental Biology
Anthony LeeEmeritus Professor of Biochemistry
Norman MacleanEmeritus Professor of Genetics
Philip NewlandEmeritus Professor of Neuroscience
V Hugh PerryEmeritus Professor of Experimental Neuropathology
David ShepherdEmeritus Professor
Peter Shoolingin-Jordan Emeritus Professor
Robert WalkerEmeritus Professor of Neurophysiology
David C WiltonEmeritus Professor
Yuting WeiSenior Research Assistant
Mark WillettImaging Services Manager
Gemma FryattResearch Technician in Neuroimmunology
Michael A BrownLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Ben ClarkLaboratory Technician supporting Education
David CookTechnical Team Leader (Research)
Michael CottonLaboratory Technician supporting Horticulture
Rachel FitzearleSenior Technical Manager
Claire Marianne KingLaboratory Technician (Education)
Juanjuan LiResearch Technician
David NorrisLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Jane Worner-GibbsDeputy Senior Technical Manager (Education)
Kamil Grzegorz ZahorskiLab Support Technician
Kirsty Z CooperResearch Technician
Georgina R DawesLaboratory Technician supporting Research
Katarzyna DudkiewiczResearch Technician
Marilyn JenkinsLaboratory Technician supporting Research
Chris MalcolmLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Jing LinProject Manager
Natasha NaterNational Biofilms Innovation Centre (NBIC) Communications Manager
Chris JacksonEmeritus Fellow
Joel D AllenPostgraduate research student
Mark DixonFacility Manager (Building 85)
Callum J HighmoreResearch Fellow in Microbiology
Jo Slater-JefferiesOperations Director – National Biofilms Innovation Centre (NBIC)
    Privacy Settings