European Master's in Embedded Computing Systems (MSc)

Master of Science
Typical Offer
2:1 degree View full entry requirements
2 years
Course Type
Next course starts
October 2024

About this course

This European master’s in embedded computing systems (EMECS) is a 2 year course run in partnership with Kaiserslautern University in Germany and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

We are experts in system-on-chip (SoC) and electronics, NTNU specialise in electronics and communications, and Kaiserslautern in embedded systems. You’ll learn the fundamentals of embedded computing systems and experience life and study in different countries.  

Our MSc embedded systems degree is a European-based master’s. It allows you to study in 2 countries at different universities.  

On this embedded systems master’s degree you’ll learn the technologies that are transforming our communication systems. You'll get expert training from the: 

You’ll study the fundamentals of embedded computing systems to the same education level at any of the universities. You’ll get to choose what electives you study, and the options on offer reflect the University’s individual profiles and their research institutions.   

We regularly review our courses to ensure and improve quality. This course may be revised as a result of this. Any revision will be balanced against the requirement that the student should receive the educational service expected. Find out why, when, and how we might make changes.

Our courses are regulated in England by the Office for Students (OfS).

Course lead

This course lead for The University of Southampton is Dr Basel Halak. Dr Halak is a member of the Sustainable Electronics research group, as well as, Cyber Security group at Southampton’s Electronics and Computer Science School (ECS). His background is in the design and implementation of microelectronics systems, with special focus on reliability and security. Learn more by visiting Dr Halak’s staff profile

Course location

This course is based at Highfield.

Awarding body

This qualification is awarded by the University of Southampton.

Download the Course Description Document

The Course Description Document details your course overview, your course structure and how your course is taught and assessed.