Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
About us

Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences

The Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences brings together the schools for Health Sciences, Biological Sciences, Ocean and Earth Science, Geography and Environmental Science, Psychology and the Institute for Life Sciences (IfLS).

We also host a unique standalone interdisciplinary degree, MSci Natural Sciences, which offers a bespoke learning experience by allowing students to choose optional modules from across the University in Engineering, Mathematics, Archaeology, Psychology, Management, Business, Law and Sociology.

The Institute of Life Sciences facilitates interdisciplinary collaborations within the university and beyond, between different research disciplines to address key global issues in health, society and business. All our schools have a thriving research culture and are served by state-of-the-art facilities. Our unique Waterfront Campus is based at the National Oceanography Centre Southampton and is a world-leading research centre for Earth and marine research. 

We have received recognition for the quality and excellence of our education and research on both a national and international scale:

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2018

Guardian University Guide 2019 (subject level league table)

Other achievements

Visit our school sites below to find out more about our subject specialisms and facilities.

Key people

Dean of Faculty, Environmental and Life Sciences: Professor Rachel Mills

Executive Assistant to the Dean: David Brown

Faculty Director of Graduate School: Professor Tim Minshull

Associate Director of Faculty Operations: Vacant

Head of Faculty Finance: Karen McKinstry 

Faculty Academic Registrar: Jenny Atkins

HR Business Partner: Cathie Holmes

Associate Deans

Associate Dean of Education: Professor Sarah Stevenage

Associate Dean of Research and Enterprise: Professor Jon Bull  

Associate Dean of International: Professor Sue Colley  

Heads of School

Head of School, Biological Sciences: Professor Lindy Holden-Dye

Head of School, Geography and Environmental Science: Professor Pete Langdon

Head of School, Health Sciences: Professor Mandy Fader

Head of School, Ocean and Earth Science: Professor Stephen Roberts

Head of School, Psychology: Professor Matthew Garner


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.