Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
About us

Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine specialises in Cancer Sciences, Clinical And Experimental Sciences, Human Development and Health, Medical Education, and Primary Care and Population Sciences.

In 2018, we opened the Centre for Cancer Immunology, the UK’s first and only centre dedicated to cancer immunology research. Our other research centres include the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit and the Centre for Human Development, Stem Cells and Regeneration.

We are a national leader in medical education, investing in multi-disciplinary research teams and creating opportunities for external collaborations. We have a reputation for translating new findings to clinical practice and for quality research. In the most recent Research Excellence Framework (2014):

Visit our sites below to find out more about our subject specialisms and facilities.

Key people

Dean of Faculty, Medicine: Professor Diana Eccles

Executive Assistant to the Dean: Snita Bansal

Faculty Director of Graduate School: Dr Ashley Pringle

Associate Director of Faculty Operations: Adrian Reyes-Hughes

Faculty HR Business Partner: Ruth Nash

Head of Faculty Finance: Clare Taylor

Faculty Academic Registrar: Frances Nyland 

Associate Deans 

Associate Dean of Education: Professor Karen Morrison 

Associate Dean of Research: Professor John Holloway 

Associate Dean of Enterprise: Professor Salim Khakoo 

Associate Dean of International: Professor David Wilson


Head of Cancer Sciences: Professor Tim Underwood

Head of Clinical and Experimental Sciences: Professor Robert Read

Head of Human Development and Health: Professor Philip Calder

Head of Medical Education: Marcus Parry

Head of Primary Care and Population Sciences: Professor Julie Parkes


Director, MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit: Professor Cyrus Cooper

Director, Wessex Institute: Professor Jeremy Wyatt

Director, Centre for Cancer Immunology: Professor Tim Elliot


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.