Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
About us

Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences is home to Southampton Law School, Southampton Business School, Southampton Education School, Mathematical Sciences and Economic, Social and Political Sciences.

Our research facilities include Public Policy Southampton, the Institute for Maritime Law, CORMSIS, and a number of other specialist institutes. We also host the University’s Public Engagement with Research unit, which supports staff and students from all disciplines to share knowledge, learn from and collaborate with the public. Our schools address issues that matter to people and society, and our success is built on quality research.

Research Excellence Framework 2014

Other achievements

Visit our school sites below to find out more about our subject specialisms and facilities.

Key people 

Dean of Faculty, Social Sciences: Professor Jane Falkingham 

Executive Assistant to the Dean: Jane Revell 

Faculty Director of Graduate School: Dr Vadim Grinevich

Associate Director of Faculty Operations: Thom Bull

Head of Faculty Finance: Chris Tollerfield

Faculty Academic Registrar: Nasseem Fazel-Hamedani

HR Business Partner: Caroline Norris

Associate Deans 

Associate Dean of Education: Professor Jim Anderson

Associate Dean of Research and Enterprise: Professor Sally Brailsford/Professor Rebecca Hoyle

Associate Dean of International: Professor Sabu Padmadas 

Heads of School

Head of School, Economic, Social and Political Sciences: Professor Nikos Tzavidis

Head of School, Mathematical Sciences: Professor Jonathan Forster

Head of Southampton Business School: Professor Martin Broad

Head of Southampton Education School: Professor Martin Dyke

Head of Southampton Law School: Professor Brenda Hannigan



Privacy Settings