Skip to main content
Research group

Bioengineering Group

Student in a lab coat is looking into a microscope and showing results on the laptop infront of her

Our research focuses on the application of engineering principles and life sciences. We're exploring ways to solve problems across topics such as biology, medicine and healthcare.

Part of Engineering

About

Bioengineering science research spans multiple disciplines, and we can be seen in the wide range of facilities within the Biolab facility. 

Our group covers a variety of inter-related activities and we focus on: 

  • nutrient transport and absorption in blood vessels and plants 
  • biomechanics of joint replacement patients and amputees 
  • lab on a chip and sensors for therapeutics 
  • rapid diagnosis and tissue engineering for tissue regeneration and repair 

 

Research highlights

People, projects and publications

People

Professor Alex Dickinson

Professor

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: alex.dickinson@soton.ac.uk

Address: B7, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Ali Mosayyebi

Senior Research Fellow

Email: a.mosayyebi@soton.ac.uk

Address: B5, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Andrew Chipperfield BSc, PhD

Associate Professor

Research interests

  • Modelling of physiological systems
  • Medical device design
  • Microvascular flows

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: a.j.chipperfield@soton.ac.uk

Address: B7, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Bram Sengers

Associate Professor

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: b.g.sengers@soton.ac.uk

Address: B7, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Charles Burson-Thomas

Lecturer

Email: c.b.burson-thomas@soton.ac.uk

Address: B5, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Dr Florence Mbithi BSc, MSc, PhD, CEng, MIMechE

Research Fellow

Research interests

  • Skin health and pressure ulcersApplied biomechanical engineeringModern prosthetics designBiomedical engineeringAutonomous systems

Dr Jack Denny BEng(Hons), PhD, CEng MIMechE, FHEA

Lecturer in Structures

Research interests

  • Blast effects on structures
  • Characterisation of complex blast propagation
  • Blast injury modelling

Accepting applications from PhD students

Email: jack.denny@soton.ac.uk

Address: Boldrewood Campus, Burgess Road, SO16 7QF

Dr Katy Rankin

Senior Enterprise Fellow

Email: k.rankin@soton.ac.uk

Address: B5, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Markus Heller

Professor of Biomechanics

Email: m.o.heller@soton.ac.uk

Address: B7, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

Professor Martin Browne

Professor of Applied Biomaterials

Email: doctor@soton.ac.uk

Address: B5, East Highfield Campus, University Road, SO17 1BJ

The needs of the user should be at the core of any new health technology.
Professor of Applied Biomaterials
Back
to top